Avoid Common Mistakes in Home Buying - Your Home Finance.
If you're like most people, buying a home is the biggest investment you'll
ever make. Annual mortgage, taxes and insurance costs can range from 25% to
40% of your gross annual income. By visiting this reference page, you're on
your way to protecting yourself, and making the home-buying process easier
by becoming an informed consumer.
Buying a home
Looking for a home without being pre-approved.
Pre-approval and pre-qualification are two different things. During the
pre-qualification process, a loan officer asks you a few questions, then hands
you a "pre-qual" letter. The pre-approval process is much more thorough.
During the pre-approval process, the mortgage company does virtually all
the work associated with obtaining full-approval. Since there is no property
yet identified to purchase, however, an appraisal and title search aren't
conducted.
When you're pre-approved, you have much more negotiating clout with the
seller. The seller knows you can close the transaction because a lender
has carefully reviewed your income, assets, credit and other relevant
information. In some cases (multiple offers, for example), being
pre-approved can make the difference between buying and not buying a home.
Also, you can save thousands of dollars as a result of being in a better
negotiating situation.
Most good Realtors will not show you homes until you are pre-approved.
They don't want to waste your, their, or the seller's time.
Many mortgage companies will help you become pre-approved at little or
no cost. They'll usually need to check your credit and verify your income
and assets.
Making verbal (oral) agreements!
If an agent tries to make you sign a written document that is contrary to
their verbal commitments, don't do it! For example, if the agent says the
washer will come with the home, but the contract says it will not--the written
contract will override the verbal contract. In fact, written contracts almost
always override verbal contracts. When buying or selling real estate, abide
by this maxim: Get it in writing!
Choosing a lender because they have the lowest rate. Not getting
a written good-faith estimate.
While rate is important, you have to consider the overall cost of your loan.
Pay close attention to the APR, loan fees, discount and origination points.
Some lenders include discount and origination points in their quoted points.
Other lenders may only quote discount points, when in fact there is an
additional origination point (or fraction of a point).
This difference in the way points are sometime quoted is important to you.
One lender will quote all points, while another lender may disclose an extra
point, or fraction thereof, at a later time--an unwelcome surprise.
Within 3 working days after receipt of your completed loan application,
your mortgage company is required to provide you with a written good-faith
estimate of closing costs. You may want to consider requesting a GFE from a
few lenders before submitting your application. With a few GFEs to compare,
you can get a feel for which lenders are more thorough, and you can educate
youself regarding the costs associated with your transaction. The GFE with
the highest costs may not indicate that a particular lender is more expensive
than another--in fact, they may be more diligent in itemizing all fees.
The cost of the mortgage, however, shouldn't be your only criteria. You
should feel comfortable that the loan officer you are dealing with is
committed to your best interests and will deliver what they promise.
Choosing a lender because they are recommended by your Realtor.
Your Realtor is not a financial expert. He or she may not know which loan
is best for you. Your Realtor gets a commission only when your transaction
closes. As a result, the Realtor may refer you to a lender who will close
your loan, but who may not have the best rates or fees. Also, many Realtors
refer you to one of their friends in the loan business--who also may not have
the best rates or fees. Although most Realtors are professional and concerned
about your best interests, you should do your own homework.
We recommend asking for a loan with someone of your choice before you sign
a real estate sales contract. There are countless stories of consumers who
ended up paying higher rates, or got a loan that wasn't right for them,
because they blindly followed their Realtor's advice.
Not getting a rate lock in writing.
When a mortgage company tells you they have locked your rate, get a written
statement detailing the interest rate, the length of the rate lock, and other
particulars about the program.
Using a dual agent an agent who represents the buyer and seller
in the same transaction.
Buyers and sellers have opposing interests. Sellers want to receive the
highest price, buyers want to pay the lowest price. In most situations, dual
agents cannot be fair to both buyer and seller. Since the seller usually pays
the commission, the dual agent may negotiate harder for the seller than for
the buyer. If you are a buyer, it is usually better to have your own agent
represent you.
The only time you should consider using a dual agent, is when you can get
a price break (usually resulting from the dual agent lowering their commission).
Buying a home without professional inspections. Taking the
seller's word that repairs have been made.
Unless you're buying a new home with warranties on most equipment, it is
highly recommended that you get property, roof and termite inspections. These
reports will give you a better picture of what you're buying. Inspection
reports are great negotiating tools when it comes to asking the seller to make
repairs. If a professional home inspector states that certain repairs need to
be made, the seller is more likely to agree to making them.
If the seller agrees to make repairs, have your inspector verify the
completed work prior to close of escrow. Do not assume that everything will
be done as promised.
Not shopping for home insurance until you are ready to close.
Start shopping for insurance as soon as you have an accepted offer. Many
buyers wait until the last minute to get insurance and find they have no time
left to shop around.
Signing documents without reading them.
Do not sign documents in a hurry. As soon as possible, review the
documents you'll be signing at close of escrow--including a copy of all
loan documents. This way, you can review them and get your questions
answered in a timely manner. Do not expect to read all the documents
during the closing. There is rarely enough time to do that.
Making moving plans that don't work.
You expect to move out of your current residence on Friday and into
your new residence over the weekend. Also on Friday, your lease
terminates and the movers are scheduled to appear.
Friday morning arrives: bags packed, boxes stacked, children under
arm and the dog on a leash; you're sitting on your front door stoop
awaiting the arrival of the movers. Your phone rings. Your loan closing
is delayed until the following Tuesday. The new tenants turn into your
driveway with a weighted-down U-Haul and the movers pull up across the
street.
You ask yourself, "Where's the nearest Motel 6 and storage
facility? How much will the movers charge for an extra trip?
Can we afford it?"
How can you avoid such a disaster? Cancel your lease and ask the
movers to show up five to seven days after you anticipate closing
your transaction. Consider the extra expense an insurance policy.
You're buying peace of mind--and protecting yourself from expensive
delays.
Refinancing your home
Refinancing with your current lender without shopping around.
Your current lender may not have the best rates and programs.
Believing it's easier to work with your current lender is a common
misconception. In most cases, they'll require the same documentation
as other lenders and mortgage brokers. This is because most loans are
sold on the secondary market and have to be approved independently.
Even if you've been good at making payments to your existing lender,
they'll still have to process the verifications all over again.
Not doing a break-even analysis.
Determine the total transaction costs and how much you'll save each
month by lowering your monthly mortgage payment. Divide the transaction
costs by the monthly savings to determine the number of months you'll
have to stay in the property to recoup your refinancing costs.
For example, if the costs of refinancing total $2000, and you save
$50 per month, you break-even in 2000/50 = 40 months. In this case,
you should only refinance if you plan to stay in the home for at least
40 months.
Note: The above example is suited to comparing two similar
loans when the intent is to lower your monthly payment and recoup
transaction costs relatively quickly. Other refinancing transactions
require different kinds of analyses which are beyond the scope of
this document. Other types of refinancing transactions include
exchanging a fixed rate for an ARM, or a 30 year mortgage for a
15 year mortgage.
Not getting a written good-faith estimate of
closing costs.
Within 3 working days after receipt of your completed loan
application, your mortgage company is required to provide you
with a written good-faith estimate of closing costs.
Paying for a home appraisal when you think the
appraised value may be too low.
Have the appraisal company conduct a desk-review appraisal
(typically at no charge) and provide you with a range of possible
values. Your mortgage company can ask an appraiser to do this
for you.
Do not waste your money on a complete appraisal if you believe
the home is unreasonably priced.
Using the county tax assessor's value as the
market value of your home.
Mortgage companies do not use the county tax assessor's value
to help determine if they'll originate your loan. They, like real
estate agents, usually use the sales comparison approach (formerly
known as the market data comparison approach).
Signing documents without reading them.
Do not sign documents in a hurry. As soon as possible, review the
documents you'll be signing at close of escrow--including a copy of
all loan documents. This way, you can review them and get your
questions answered in a timely manner. Do not expect to read all
the documents during the closing. There is rarely enough time to do
that.
Not providing your mortgage company with documents in a timely manner.
When your mortgage company asks you for additional paperwork--get
cracking! They're trying to get you approved! If you don't quickly
respond to your broker's requests, you could end up paying higher
rates should your rate lock expire.
Not getting a rate lock in writing.
When a mortgage company tells you they've locked your rate, get a
written statement detailing the interest rate, the length of the rate
lock, and other particulars about the program.
Drawing against your home equity credit line before you
refinance your first mortgage.
Many lenders have "cash-out" seasoning requirements. If you draw
against your credit line for anything other than home improvements,
they'll consider your first mortgage refinance transaction a "cash-out"
refinance. This creates stricter lending requirements and can, in some
cases, break your deal.
Getting a second mortgage before you refinance your first
mortgage.
Many mortgage companies look at the combined loan amounts (i.e., the
sum of the first and second loans) when you are refinancing only your
first loan. If you plan on refinancing your first loan, check with your
mortgage company to see if having a second loan will cause your refinance
to be turned down.
Getting a home equity credit line.
Not checking to see if your credit line has a pre-payment
penalty clause.
If you are getting a "NO FEE" credit line, chances are it has a
pre-payment penalty clause. This can be very important (and expensive)
if you are planning to sell or refinance your home in the next three to
five years.
Getting too large a credit line.
When you get too large a credit line, you can be turned down for
other loans. Some lenders calculate your credit line payments based
upon the available credit, even when your credit line has a zero
balance. Having a large credit line indicates a large potential
payment, which makes it difficult to qualify for loans.
Not understanding the difference between an equity loan
and a credit line.
An equity loan is closed--i.e., you get all your money up front,
then make payments on that fixed loan amount until the loan is paid.
An equity credit line is open--i.e., you can get an initial advance
against the line, then reuse the line as often as you want during
the period the line is open. Most credit lines are accessed through
a checkbook or a credit card. Credit line payments are based upon
the outstanding balance.
Use an equity loan when you need all the money up front--e.g. home
improvements or debt consolidation.
Use a credit line if you have an ongoing need for money or need the
money for a future event--e.g., you need to pay for your child's
college tuition in three years.
Not checking the lifecap on your equity line.
Many credit lines have lifecaps of 18%. Be prepared to make high
interest payments if rates move upwards.
Getting a credit line from your local bank without
shopping around.
Many consumers get their credit line from the bank with which they
have their checking account. Shop around before deciding to use your
bank.
Not getting a good-faith estimate of closing costs.
Within three working days after receipt of your completed loan
application, your mortgage company is required to provide you with a
written good-faith estimate of closing costs.
Assuming that the interest on your home credit line/loan
is tax deductible.
In some instances, the interest on your home credit line is NOT tax
deductible. It is beyond the scope of this document to provide tax
advice or quote from the IRS code. Contact an accountant or CPA to
determine your particular situation.
Assuming a home equity line is always cheaper than a
car loan or a credit card.
A credit card at 6.9% can be cheaper than a credit line at 12%, even
after the tax deduction. To compare rates, compare the effective rate
of your credit line with the rate on a credit card or auto loan.
Effective rate = rate * (1 - tax_bracket)
Example: If the rate of the home equity credit line is 12% and your
tax bracket is 30%, your effective rateis12% * (1 - 0.3) = 12% * 0.7 = 8.4%
If your credit card is higher than 8.4%, the credit line is cheaper.
Besides the interest rate, you may also want to compare monthly payments
and other terms of the loan.
Getting a home equity credit line if you plan to refinance
your first mortgage in the near future.
Many mortgage companies look at the combined loan amounts (i.e., the
first loan plus the equity line/loan) even though they are refinancing
only the first mortgage. If you plan on refinancing your first loan,
check with your mortgage company to determine if getting a second
line/loan will cause your refinance to be turned down.
Getting a home equity credit line to pay off your credit
cards if your spending is out of control!
When you pay off your credit cards with your credit line, don't put
your home on the line by charging large amounts on your credit cards
again! If you can't manage the plastic, get rid of it!
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